OEFFA is launching a series of farm tours and workshops

bulletin

COLUMBUS, Ohio — The Ohio Ecological Food and Farm Association (OEFFA) and partners invite you to explore farms and agriculture this summer during the Series of farm tours and workshops 2024.

OEFFA’s annual series of public tours and workshops includes 24 events, featuring organic and ecological farms in Ohio and Michigan, plus a number of educational workshops. This programming opens the door for farmers, gardeners, educators and consumers to learn about local food and agriculture firsthand.

Participants will have the opportunity to walk through fields, garden beds, cattle pastures and more on these OEFFA farm tours:

  • Saturday June 22: Goat Milk Herd Share farm tour—Daily hectares, Licking Co.
  • Saturday June 29: Integrated farm and café tour—Fresh To Morrow Farm & Café, Warren Co.
  • Saturday July 13: Grazing innovations Pasture walk—Bair-Trax Farm, Miami Co.
  • Saturday July 20: Organic produce farm tour—Hostetlers organic substances, Wayne Co.
  • Sunday July 21: Artisan Organic Grains and Milling Tour—Mud Run Farm, Stark Co.
  • Friday August 9: Nutritious Grain Farm Tour and Grain Growers Chapter Meeting—Next generation of organic farms, Putnam Co.
  • Saturday August 17: Diversified tour of the fruit farm—Boulder Berry Farms, Warren Co.
  • Saturday September 28: Guided tour of the livestock farm—MoSo farm, Athens Co.
  • Monday October 14: Organic farm tour with pork and mushrooms—Agape Organic Farms, Ingham Co., Michigan
  • Sunday November 10: Ohio Soil Health Week Farm Tour—Martin Hollow Heritage Farm, Brown Co.

Participants can explore agricultural programs, understand the organic certification process, explore farm employment opportunities and more during these OEFFA workshops:

  • Thursday June 6: Lessons learned in social equality-Virtual
  • Monday June 10, July 8 and August 12: Organics 101-Virtual
  • Monthly: Farmer’s aid shop-Virtual
  • Saturday July 27: Site assessment workshopPreble Co.
  • Monday August 5: The USDA and You: Local Food Subsidies-Virtual
  • Thursday August 8: Basics of Land Leasing-Virtual
  • Monday August 26: Basic principles of labor law in agriculture-Virtual
  • Friday-Sunday September 13-15: OEFFA at the Ohio Pawpaw Festival—Ohio Pawpaw Festival, Athens Co.
  • Thursdays September 19, September 26 and October 3: Sowing seeds for success-Virtual
  • Tuesday October 8: The USDA and You: Organic Transition Support-Virtual
  • Saturday October 12: Pitch your farm dream—Oberlin Public Library, Lorain Co.
  • Monday October 21, October 28 and November 4: Cooperative Agriculture Learning Series-Virtual
  • Saturday October 26: Indigo exploration workshop—Praxis Fiber Workshop, Cuyahoga Co.
  • Tuesday November 12: The USDA and You: Conservation Programs-Virtual

In addition to OEFFA, other farm tours, events and programs are presented by Central State University Extension, Common Greens, FairShare CSA Coalition and The Ohio State University.

All events are free and open to the public unless indicated otherwise. For the full schedule, descriptions and to register, visit oeffa.org/farmtours.

–Ohio Ecological Food and Agriculture Association