Yellow alert in 13 districts of Tamil Nadu


Chennai, June 6 (IANS): The Regional Meteorological Center (RMC) on Thursday issued code yellow in 13 districts of Tamil Nadu.

The RMC has said that Coimbatore, Nilgiris, Tirupur, Theni, Dindigul, Erode, Krishnagiri, Tirupattur, Dharmapuri, Salem, Namakkal, Karur and Tiruchi districts have been put on yellow alert by the state.

According to the weather department, the rain will be due to the higher atmospheric circulation that prevailed in the southern areas.

The RMC has also forecast light to moderate rain with thunder, lightning and strong winds (ranging from 30 kmph to 40 kmph) in some parts of Tamil Nadu, Puducherry and Karaikal on June 6.

Rains with isolated gusty winds are expected in interior and coastal areas of Tamil Nadu between June 7 and 11, the RMC statement said.

The weather department also said that Chennai and its suburbs will remain cloudy for the next 48 hours. Light to moderate rainfall, accompanied by thunder and lightning, is also expected over the next 48 hours, the statement said.